You are here

Our trophy cabinet

As the 2020 season gets underway, check out the silverware that you are competing for... 



Trophy Namesort descending Image Description Recent Winners
420 Trophy

Donated by Andrew & Jo Wallace in 2014 for the 420 Open Meeting

Awarded in 2016 for the 420 Team Racing Series

2016 Ian Bartlett's Team
2014 Will McMahon

Albacore Open

Albacore Open Trophy

First Awarded:1980

Donated by Mike Weeks in 1980

2019: Oliver Davenport & Stephen Graham (Northampton SC)
2018: Judy & Paul Armstrong (Scaling Dam)
2017: Judy & Paul Armstrong (Scaling Dam)

Aline Trophy - Junior

The Aline Junior trophy, part of the Cannon series

2018: Not Contested
2017: Max Buswell
2016 Not Contested
2015 Ali Wallace
2014 Aliya & Aqil Jannaty
2013. Catriona Wallace

Aline Trophy - Senior

Awarded to the Senior winner of the Aline Trophy Day, part of the Coot series

Part of club history since 1959.

Initially raced at the Whitsun Regatta

2019: John Harvey and Barry Medwell
2018: John Harvey and Barry Medwell
2018: Chris Jeffries
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: Andy Miles
2015: Andy Miles

Asymmetric Open - First Home Vareo

Donated by Kevin Weatherhead in 2017. To be awarded to the first (home) vareo in the asymmetric open, not winning the event

Photo to be added; 

2019: Al Sim and Frankie Sim
2018: Andrew Appleton
2017: Phil O'Nions

Asymmetric Open Junior Trophy

Awarded to the highest placed junior in the Asymmetric open.  Donated by the SCSC Asymmetric class in 2011.

No junior helms 2013 - 2018

Asymmetric Open Trophy

Awarded to the winner of the Asymmetric Open, donated by SCSC Asymmetric Class 2011

2018: Kevin Weatherhead (SCSC)
2017: Luke Fisher (Emberton Park SC)
2016: Jeremy Symons (Llandegfedd SC)
2015: Alex & Lewis Frost (ex-SCSC)

Attendance Award

For the Cadet sailor who attends the most Saturday sessions over the season.

2019 Emilia Hampton
2017 Francesca Neale
2016 Francesca Neale
2015 Not awarded
2014 Francesca Neale & Lewis Tull
2013 Rowan Connolly
2012 Fiona...

Autumn Trophy

Cadet helm and crew who achieve the lowest points score over the 3rd and 4th (August and September) race days.

2019 Not Sailed
2018 Not Sailed
2017 Not Sailed
2016 Not sailed
2015 Not sailed
2014 Felix & Jack Bowers
2013 Aliya & Aqil Jannaty
2012 Hannah...

Best Beginner Cadet Crew

Best new Cadet crew in their first year of crewing

2017 Olivia McMorris
2016 Woody Black
2015 Ethan Miller
2014 Florence Hawker
2013 Emma Sowden
2012 Poppy Redfern
2011 Tima Malikov

Best Beginner Cadet Helm

Best new Cadet helm in their first year of helming

2019 Finn Prendergast
2017 Ethan Millar
2016 Peter Oswell
2015 Oscar Ballentyne
2014 Francesca Neale
2013 Tima Malikov
2012 Tom Hynes
2011 Ali...

Best Home Cadet Crew

A successful Cadet crew who does not, or is not able to, compete away from the club

2019 Ava Roberts
2017 Will Salmon
2016 Emilia Hampton
2015 Olivia Ballentyne
2014 Olivia & Oscar Ballentyne
2013 Rueben Tinto
2012 Rueben Tinto

Best Home Cadet Helm

A successful Cadet helm who does not, or is not able to, compete away from the club

2019 Ben McLoughlin
2017 Olivia Ballentyne
2016 Fran Neale
2015 Felix Bowers
2014 Rowan Connolly
2013 Harry Folkard
2012 Lizzy Wall
2011 Chris...

Boanas Shield

Awarded to the winner of the General Handicap Autumn Points series

2019: Richard Leftley
2018: Richard Leftley
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: Chris Jeffries
2015: Chris Jeffries
2014: Liz Macdonald

Bosun's Bell

The senior Bosun's Bell

Part of club history since 1971

2019: Malcolm James and Jonny Stevenson
2018: Liz MacDonald
2017: Matt Sim
2016: Alex Frost
2015: Andy Miles
2014: David Pocock

Bosun's Bell (Junior)

Bosun's Bell junior trophy

2019: Max Buswell and Monty Hampton
2018: Francesca Neale
2017: Max Buswell
2016: Not Contested
2015: Ali Wallace
2014: Aliya & Aqil Jannaty

Brass Monkey Cup

Part of Club History since 1975

Awarded in recent years to the winner of the Frostbite Series

From 2015 to be awarded to the Gentleman Runner Up

2019: Richard Leftley
2018: Andy Schaffner
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: Chris Jeffries
2015: Mike Weeks

Winner Frostbite Series
2014: Andy Miles

Cadet Captain's Award

These awards were introduced by Tim Hampton in 2017

The aim is to recognise perseverance, ability, attitude etc. Awarded at the discretion of the cadet class captain

2017: Bells Barry; Jonty Conway; Olivia Hedges; Jemima McMorriss; Peter Oswell; Thomas Pontet; Elisa Power; Japon Wynn

Cadet Class Captain's Medals

Introduced in the first time in 2017

Awarded at the sole discretion of the Class Captain, to recognise perseverance, ability, attitude and/or general contibutions


2017: Elisa Power; Thomas Pontet; Peter Oswell; Barry Bells; Jacob Wynn; Olivia Hedges; Jonty Conway; Jemima McMorris

Cadet Trophy Shield

Previously awarded for the Cadet Autumn points from 2002 to 2012. Not currently in use

2011 Louisa Coxson & Emma Quekett

Calor Gas Shield

Awarded for the General Handicap spring points series

2019: Richard Leftley
2018: Richard Leftley
2017: Chris Jeffries
2016: Chris Jeffries
2015: Dave Chadwick
2014: Liz Macdonald
2013: Peter Weatherhead

Cannon Trophy

Winner of the junior club championship. Awarded since 1994, although the trophy has been part of club history since 1964 (Enterprise class).

2019: Ben McLoughlin with Annie Power and Ava Roberts
2018: Fran Neale
2017: Fran Neale
2016: Fran Neale & Emilia Hampton
2015 Ali Wallace
2014 Ali...

Charles Turtle

Charles Turtle Trophy

Part of club history since 1969

2019: Mike Round
2018: Dave Whittle & Jackie Vale
2017: Ian Bartlett
2016: Guy Lonsdale
2015: Andy Miles
2014: Andy Miles

Chelmay Trophy (Charles Turtle Junior)

The Chelmay Trophy has been in use in the club since at least 1967. It has been used for the 'Cadet Helmsman of the Year' and also for the Cadet Chelmay Series up to 2007.

From 2016 it will be presented to the Junior Winner of the Charles Turtle Trophy Day, as the original trophy for this event has been lost

2019: Not contested
2018: Katya Davies-Smith
2017: Not contested
2016: Not Contested
2015: Not contested

Chilli Dog Plaque

Awarded to the runner-up in the Chilli Dog Personal Handicap Series from 2006, then to the winner of this series from 2015

Donated by Mike Weeks

2019: Jonny Stevenson and Malcolm James
2018: Vernon Perkins
2017: Oscar Ballantyne
2016: Chris Jeffries
2015: John Harvey & Barry Medwell


Copyright © 2015 South Cerney Sailing Club Limited